Painting fabric with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint

Painting Fabric with Annie Sloan Chalk PaintIMG_4689

This beauty started off life a little less classy in my opinion. It was originally covered in a purple patterned fabric that just didn’t go with my décor.IMG_4680

 I loved the shape but I didn’t want the hassle of recovering, so I thought why not paint it? To be honest if you sit still for too long in my house you get painted! 🙂 

I started off with a slightly watered down ASCP in Country Grey and after several coats it had covered well. (I have since found out you can also dampen the fabric with a spray beforehand to help the paint spread easily).

IMG_4682 This is what it looked like once the Country Grey paint was dry….

….it was so much better but I thought it needed something more just to tie it to the rest of the room.

That‘s when I decide to ‘print’ stripes using a piece of polystyrene!blackberry pics seat pads 013 

The imperfections on the polystyrene make for a more interesting pattern on the stripes. Just paint a nice even coat of ASCP and ‘print’ with a rocking motion.

Once dry I gave the whole thing a couple of good coats of AS wax and the ottoman now has a fabulous leather feel. Perfect!!

Have a try and show me how you get on. If you have any questions please feel free to ask. Gill xx (Mrs Giddy Goat)

 

Leave a Reply

